Doing What I’d Rather Not . . .

So, I finished my cardigan! It’s blocked and has buttons and it’s soft and lovely . . . except for one thing: I went from a 34″ size in the waist to a 36″ size for the bust and I ended up with what can only be called flying squirrel flaps under the arms. In other words, the upper part of the cardigan is a little big, but the bust is too big by about 1″ on either side. It’s probably only really noticeable to me, but it’s been bugging me when I wake up in the morning, when I go to bed at night. I have yet to wear the sweater because of said flaps. I considered tailoring it, steeking it, even frogging it (gulp)

IMG_7271

Before you cry out in pain, know that I have chosen to tailor it and NOT frog it. If I do knit this up again, tho, I would stick to the size 34″ all the way up and consider changing the location of the increases–even if it affects the cables a bit. I think 34″ upper will actually make the WHOLE sweater more wearable–especially given how the yarn relaxed after washing and blocking.

I considered not posting the sad news about the sweater’s imperfections, but then I thought about how many other blogs I read with tragic stories–and how comforting they are–and I decided to share my trials and tribulations.

So admire what you can about this sweater, for soon it will be modified! Any advice, cheers, jeers, or condolences welcome.

This entry was posted in knitting, sweater and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing What I’d Rather Not . . .

  1. metaspencer says:

    Your frog will be a prince!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Portulaca Cardigan Reborn! | Knitting the Stash!

Leave a Reply

