Keeping Track: The Journals

I’ve heard from several spinners and fleece prep-ers, that your memories of each carefully considered and executed yarn will be forgotten–even sooner than you might imagine . . . and so I have taken their advice and started a wool/spinning journal to keep track of my adventures.

IMG_0258

This journal will join my knitting notebook, in which I sketch designs, keep track of patterns, and maintain other to-knit lists. I’ve also decided to keep samples of the raw fleeces I process . . . at least for a while.

Since the advent of Ravelry’s homespun category (and this blog, to be honest), I feel that my back-up systems are firmly in place. But servers go down, blogs get moldy [not this one! ack], and sometimes you just want to use paper, pencil, and some good, old-fashioned sandwich baggies. After all, could pictures *really* capture the raw wool locks I’ve been saving??

If anyone out there keeps a spinning, knitting, or wool record: what’s your method? I’d love to hear about it in the comments 🙂

This entry was posted in journal, keeping track, raw fleece, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keeping Track: The Journals

  1. woollykindknits says:

    Ravelry homespun? I can’t find anything on Ravelry about it. I’m intrigued. But, like your system, too. Must think about getting one in place for myself. Thanks for getting me to think about it!

    Like

  2. lissymail says:

    Yes! If you go to “My Notebook” you should see a link to “Handspun” where you can enter info about the yarn you are making. Mine is here: http://www.ravelry.com/people/mlittlefield/handspun

    I’d be curious to know what you come up with in terms of keeping track!

    Like

  3. woollykindknits says:

    That’s awesome! Thank you. For some reason, I couldn’t see it until I linked to your page.

    Your spinning looks fab!!

    Like

  4. Debbie says:

    I don’t keep track nearly as much as you do, but I found a notebook that has graph paper on one side, and I use that one for my knitting charts! Works great. I think I got them at Walgreens or CVS. I have a small one that has a label of “Markings” by C. R. Gibson.

    Like

  5. lissymail says:

    I ❤ graph paper, Debbie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

