Drum Carder Hack: Wallpaper Brush

My DIY drum carder doesn’t have one of those handy-dandy built-in brushes to push the fiber down onto the drum. These brushes are especially useful (it seems) when carding fluffier fibers or fibers that simply don’t want to pack down very easily.

But no worries! When I was wide-awake at 3:00am in the morning last week, I found this terrific hack and had to try it! Solution: a wallpaper brush. Yup, just your run-of-the-mill hardware store acquisitions. The folks over at TwoSheep.com have it all worked out–and it’s brilliant. I acquired my brush for just over $2 at our midwest big box store and tried it out on the Icelandic fiber (my icelandic fiber was not quite behaving on the drum and I needed a way to pack it down without bloodying myself.)

IMG_0288

Works like a charm and I don’t see any danger of wear and tear on the precious carder tines (when used properly–at a slight angle and without too much pressure).

So if you need to pack down the fibers, get a wallpaper brush!

This entry was posted in DIY, drum carder, fiber prep, hack, solution. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

