Stash Busting Scarf

About a year ago, I visited Schafer Yarn (Interlaken, NY) and found a quaint shop in the backyard of a house. Cheryl, the proprietress, has officially retired . . . but her shop is open by chance, by appointment, or–as I’ve always found: on Thursday afternoons. You can read a lovely review here.

I picked out some Helene yarn (50% Merino, 50% silk) and I have been dreaming of uses ever since. Well, actually, I have been hoping to hoard it in my stash, but stash-busting calls! So, while traveling this summer I grabbed the two hanks I had on hand and said: I will find a pattern for this yarn! And I did.

IMG_7057

I started working on Meandering by Hayley Tsang Sather and I just love the way it is turning out. I chose Ladeva’s version of the pattern (which involves Chart A and no beads).

IMG_0367

Things to know:

  • Meandering is available for FREE!!!! until the end of 2015. Go get it!
  • The pattern is incredibly versatile: you can knit several different sizes and styles (with or without beads) with just one or two charts
  • The pattern works for nearly all types of yarn
  • It’s a simple repeat (once you get the hang of it) based on the pattern ‘Japanese Feather’
  • If you have not worked with charts before, you should check out a tutorial, like this one from Tin Can Knits; or this great book, Charts Made Simple. The pattern only includes charts

Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in charts, de-stashing, design, knitting, scarf. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stash Busting Scarf

  1. BeeJeweled says:

    Lovely pattern, and I love that it is in memory of her mother. Just the thing I was looking for. I hand spun some beautiful superwash, and started a cable scarf with it, but I just didn’t like the way it was working out. It has been staring at me for over a year! So, now, I can frog it, and do something great with it. Thanks for finding and sharing this one.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Oh excellent! I can’t wait to see it! I want to hear more about spinning the superwash! I’m very curious about that prep. I’m sorting a Hog Island fleece at the moment and hoping to get some tips from you about the long draw 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

