Hog Island Part 2: Milled Roving

Ever since I visited the Fingerlakes Woolen Mill last spring, I have been waiting to spin the roving I purchased. It’s been sitting in what has become fondly known as “the wool room”–I mean “guest room”–just waiting for me to find some free time and an empty bobbin.

IMG_7673

But when I finally pulled out that roving and gave it a whirl, I found that the mill prep may not have done it justice . . . or I was a very inexperienced spinner . . . or both. Basically, the staple length of the roving was pretty much nil. So short! So I turned to my FB groups and asked: what about Hog Island? Their answer: high twist and long draw. Gulp. Long draw. Ok, so this was spinnable, but maybe not by me! Then again, armed with Jacey Bogg’s explanations of long drawn in her “From Worsted to Woolen” class on Craftsy, I decided I would give long draw a try.

IMG_0415 IMG_0416

I managed to get the roving on the bobbin and the single reminds me a little of Loft from Brooklyn Tweed (uhm, can I say that?) What I mean is that this yarn is tender and will break fairly easily given the woolen preparation and long draw technique. My guild mate, Debbie, suggested a few tips and tricks when I saw her last week, mostly about getting that extra twist INTO the single, and that did produce a stronger yarn. Trouble is that it’s also a bit more wire-y that I would like.

Now, I don’t get down about very much when it comes to fiber, but I have been feeling a bit defeated by this Hog Island roving. So what did I do? Why, I bought a whole Hog Island fleece, of course! After a bit of research, I discovered that some folks think Hog Island should be prepared in smaller batches on a drum carder to avoid noils–and I suspect to better group staple lengths together for a better spinning experience. An experiment is hatched.

Tomorrow: the experimental results!

This entry was posted in batt, breed, drum carder, fiber, fiber prep, Hog Island. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

