Hog Island Part 5: At Long Last, 3-Ply

I have been wanting to 3-ply for a long time. Now, I’ll admit that sounds weird. And, I’ll say: I have tried chain plying  . . . to mixed results.

What was holding me back, you ask? Why, bobbins, of course! This is my only beef with Schacht: unlike other wheels, Schacht bobbins cost a fortune! So, I considered all of the options: a ball winder to remove singles from needed bobbins, creating cakes from which to ply; a Bobbins Up set that allows you the added bonus of mixing spinning and power tools; the use of toilet paper tubes (yep, you read that right–my family even started a campaign to ‘save the toilet paper roll!’); and, of course, resigning myself to never plying more than 2 singles. None seemed fair or right or good. And, thankfully, my birthday came and went and with it came a box of bobbins! Oh me, travel bobbins! So now, I can not only ply to my heart’s content, but I can also work on more than one project at once without ripping singles from their bobbin before they are ready to be born into yarn.

Plus, my DIY Lazy Kate is happy now, having reached her full potential (for the moment): three bobbins on and winding out onto the wheel:

IMG_0763

I have to say, I am quite happy with the results! The yarn is not super soft (but, given the section of fleece from whence it came, this is not surprising); it is a little springy still, and I am super happy with the consistency. Turns out you can get some lovely yarn from a feral sheep 🙂

IMG_0785 IMG_0786 IMG_0787 IMG_0789 IMG_0791

 

This entry was posted in 3-ply, breed, fiber, Hog Island, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hog Island Part 5: At Long Last, 3-Ply

  1. BeeJeweled says:

    Excellent job! You can’t call yourself a beginner anymore.

    Like

  2. lissymail says:

    🙂 thanks, Debbie! Pretty excited about this one !!

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    Very nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

