Swatching for Sweater

I have some delicious mill-spun, undyed yarn from Feederbrook Farm that I am super excited to use. I have enough for at least one, maybe two sweaters and I want to try my hand at a natural color (with a little bit of fair isle for pop around the yoke). As an aside, I’ll be featuring Lisa Westra of Feederbrook farms this coming weekend!!!

IMG_1298

The swatch is with some of the Corriedale 2-ply yarn knit on size 5 bamboo needles. I like the weight and tightness of the fabric, but I have not yet checked gauge–waiting for the swatch to finish drying 🙂 You might notice the strange pull of the fabric in the top right corner: these are 5 YOs that I added on purpose to remind me (later) what size needles I used. Clever, eh? But it’s not my trick! I learned it from several smarties on YouTube and from Carol Feller’s Craftsy class. Love this trick!

IMG_1290 IMG_1291

Inspiration for this sweater is certainly Epostrophy by Kate Davies, but I think I will tweak it just a bit once I do some figuring based on my gauge and her pattern. What I do know: cardigan, yoke, in the round, steeked (eep!), and some fair isle colorwork. Plus, knit with breed specific yarn . . . yay!

And, in spinning news: some new fiber to try! A superwash Merino from Nest Fiber Studio I am not usually into superwash wool, but as a new spinner, I feel like trying everything at least once. And this fiber will allow me to experiment with some color theory that I have been learning in Felicia Lo’s Craftsy class on Spinning Dyed Fiber. Fun.

IMG_1301

This entry was posted in color, design, fiber, gauge, knitting, swatch, sweater. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Swatching for Sweater

  1. Rain says:

    That would be a Shackleton level project (FiberTrek) for me! But I do love that sweater!

    Like

  2. lissymail says:

    🙂 I know, right? Cover me, I’m going in!!!

    Like

  3. Alina says:

    Beautiful yarn! It must be so exciting to knit with yarn that has a story! Enjoy!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      yes, I completely agree! There is something lovely about knowing the shepherdess and the sheep–even if it is virtually 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Farm Focus: Feederbrook Farm | Knitting the Stash!

Leave a Reply

