One Year, One Blanket

I started a tradition last year, one that I am continuing this year (and every year after, if all goes as planned): one year, one blanket. It’s  a challenge and a meditation. Last year was the Hue Shift Afghan.

IMG_0827_medium2  IMG_6508_medium2

This year it’s the Love Tangle Blanket that I have been talking about and working on as a WIP for nearly a year.

IMG_0284_medium2

I keep plenty of other small knitting (and now spinning) projects going throughout the year, but I love having a blanket in the background: they are good for knitting in the car, on the move (if they are modular), and great for those moments when you just want to pull out the familiar and enjoy the feeling of knitting without much thinking. Plus, blankets are perfect for the seasons: you begin in the winter and by the next winter (after you sweat under the growing weight and length of the wool in the summer), you magically have a really cozy piece of cloth that can keep out the chill. As a bonus, I usually get to see my son dragging it around to all of the heating vents so that he can read and stay warm.

Blankets, like sweaters, also demand some real staying power–and I like that.

Next up for me, I hope, is this beauty called “Persian Dreams Throw

Screen Shot 2015-09-04 at 7.40.09 PM

But, phew, this one is going to take a while. Maybe it’ll be more like two years, one blanket.

This entry was posted in blanket, inspiration, knitting, meditation, tradition, year-long. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Year, One Blanket

  1. Carie says:

    I’ve seen that pattern on the back of a few magazines and thought how utterly gorgeous it looks, it’s definitely on my one day list but first I have a ripple crochet blankie that needs some attention!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alina says:

    I love this idea – one year, one blanket! Seems completely doable! I recently finished my first crochet blanket, though I was planning it for 5-6 years 🙂 I agree that it is so nice to have one big project always going on and pick it up without too much thinking whenever you have a free minute. And what I discovered – working on a blanket and watching a good movie goes great together!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chrisknits says:

    Maybe I should finally start that blanket I have been dreaming of. I have the yarn, I have the pattern, I just need to do it! I love the Persian Dreams!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

