Indie Dyer Feature: Somer Snider of Dancing Skies Fiber Art

I am so psyched to feature indy dyer Somer Snider of Dancing Skies Fiber Art this weekend. Somer and I began corresponding a few weeks back and I have known her for a while through the Spin a Pound, Get a Pound (SAPGAP) group on Facebook. Her batts, color ways, and yarns are super pretty and I’m not the only one who thinks so 🙂 I think you’ll see why! Somer sent along some beautiful inspiration photos and their corresponding yarn. Mmm hmm. yep. love them. Somer is all the way up in Alaska . .  maybe a good excuse for a visit someday! There, she raises sheep and chickens and keeps busy with a lot of fiber. Even–and especially–in the snowy winters.

11892299_10206106867784001_4428897184850641814_o 11947752_10206106876384216_7170034617221662351_o 11958242_10206106872504119_6758064155087182313_oScreen Shot 2015-09-09 at 2.38.39 PM

How did you catch the spinning bug?
I started making cloth diapers after the birth of my third child.  Naturally with that came woolies.  I picked up some beautiful handspun BFL to crochet some longies and I instantly fell in love.  I took a class locally, but I hated it!  I was terrible at it and completely discouraged.  I don’t like to give up easily, though, and so, I just jumped right in and purchased a spinning wheel.  She was a Schacht Ladybug and her name was Dotty.  Yes she had a name 🙂  The gal that sold the wheel to me just had a way about her: she was a natural teacher, and spinning just clicked for me.

What kinds of fiber do you spin most and why?
I do a lot of spinning for a group on Facebook called SAPGAP.  The majority of my spins are alpaca, but when I’m spinning for myself it’s usually romney, corriedale, shetland . . . rustic wools like that. Romney is my absolute favorite. It’s a joy to open up that bag of raw smelly wool; then wash, dye, card and spin it up into something I can knit. This year was the first year I was able to do all of that from my own sheep. It’s an amazing feeling to know that I had my hands in the whole process from sheep to final product.

What’s your best piece of advice for new spinners?
Don’t give up!!!  It’s so frustrating when you start spinning and your yarn is lumpy, bumpy and just a hot mess.  Lots of practice!  There are no short cuts.  You have to put the time and energy in, but you will get there.  Youtube was a tremendous help for me.  There are tons of videos out there nowadays.  It just takes that one person, teaching the way you learn, for it to click.

What is on your wheel/spindle at the moment?
Some alpaca I washed, dyed in shades of green, blue, and purple and carded up.

What is your dream yarn? What kinds of yarn do you sell?
Hmmm . . . my dream yarn would be my own handspun, in a sweater quantity.  Although Wollmeise Fliederbusch is a close second.  It’s the most beautiful fluorescent purple.  I sell mostly sock yarns/fingering weights in merino, nylon, cashmere, silk and lots more; I also have sport, dk and worsted.  Of course I’m always open to custom requests!

How can interested buyers get in touch with you?
I can be reached through my Etsy shop:  https://www.etsy.com/shop/DancingSkiesFiberArt

And via Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DancingSkiesFiberArts?fref=ts 

*  *  *

Thanks so much Somer!

I love farm visits and meeting new people (and sheep!): if you are a hand spinner, a shepherdess, a small flock owner, a mill operator, or a wool trader, I would love to feature your work on this site. Please get in touch via email or Ravelry by clicking the “About” tab (above)

 

This entry was posted in dyeing, fiber, independent, interview, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Indie Dyer Feature: Somer Snider of Dancing Skies Fiber Art

  1. Noémie says:

    That s Such a lovely interview, I really enjoyed reading it, thank you 🙂 I have been wanting to start spinning for a while… So it’s great inspiration for me 🙂 someone told me to start with a spindle first, what are your thoughts on that? 🙂

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      well, I tried the spindle and it was OK . . . but once I started with a wheel, it just clicked for me. I am actually curious to go back now and try a spindle again to see what it’s like! You should totally go for it as a start given that they are relatively inexpensive and easy to get!! Spindles are a great way to learn about the basics of roving and top and drafting fiber 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Noémie says:

        Ok thanks 🙂 I think I might get hooked if I try it 🙂 spinning your own yarn and then knitting something with it must be a very Satisfying feeling 🙂

        Like

  2. such a great interview, and I love the colours! Her yarns look gorgeous.

    Like

  3. Alina says:

    Beautiful yarn! I love how the colors are inspired by nature’s beautiful wonders!

    Like

Leave a Reply

