I think I’m in LOVE

While packing for my last transcontinental flight, I decided to bite the bullet and pack my knitting . . . . TSA be damned! I tried to be smart: I packed (cheap) wooden needles, not metal. And I did not really start any projects I wasn’t willing to rip out (just in case, you know?) I had no problem with security and so, I was off: I could knit whenever and wherever the mood struck me–and boy did it ever on the long trip, the bus, the waiting lines, etc. etc. Bored no more! No need to pack heavy books or magazines or really anything (did I mention I did the entire  day trip out of a small backpack??)

The best part–aside from all the other great parts–was that I knitted up not just one sock, but nearly two! I cast off one en route back to the states and then (almost) immediately cast on the next. I watched about 5 movies on the way back, desperately trying to stay conscious over the 24 hr travel period so as to avoid jet lag. And I am proud to say that the socks, which I just cast off, are none the worse for wear. I knit them standing in the airport line; in my hotel room; on the plane; and in the *dark* on the final bus ride home.

IMG_1812 IMG_1810 IMG_1809 IMG_1814

And when I speak of love, I am not just referring to the whole trans-Atlantic knitting jag, but also the delicious wool socks I created. This is my first pair that’s just for me (eep!) and I LOVE them. They are knit out of Pale Moon Yarns Riggins in the color “Angel Girl”

Now, on to some knee socks 🙂

This entry was posted in flying, knitting, plane, socks, travel, wooden needles. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I think I’m in LOVE

  1. Alina says:

    They are definitely worth falling in love with! Look so cozy!

    Like

  2. Airplane socks are the best! Good for you!

    Like

  3. knittedblissjc says:

    love those socks!! I knit on planes all the time, I find that if you have them discreetly tucked at the bottom of your purse, they xray in a way that makes them look like pens… I have yet to lose a set of needles (I usually use circs). I have had them liberate some small scissors, though! Now i use nail clippers to cut my yarn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

