I’ll show you mine if you explain yours . . .

I’ve been knitting for about four years now; I’ve made exactly one shawl. This is not for lack of interest. I absolutely love *looking* at shawl patterns and imaging the delicate lace work. But I’m not much of a shawl wearer . . . so  I have a proposition: I’ll share my favorite shawl patterns and you all can help me figure out what one does with a shawl. Deal?

All of the images are courtesy of Ravely and the links to sources, patterns, and designers are below! Care to share yours? Leave links in the comments!

Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 7.21.45 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 7.22.02 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 7.22.13 PM  Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 7.33.50 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-09 at 7.22.25 PM  Screen Shot 2015-11-09 at 7.23.25 PM

From left to right, top to bottom:

  1.  Bridgewater from Brookyln Tweed
  2. Rock Island from Brookyln Tweed (gah how I love so many of their patterns!)
  3. Carina from Wood House Knits (I adore Jennifer’s designs!)
  4. Nightfall by Nim Teasdale
  5. Seeds to Flowers Cowl from Kristina Vilimaite
  6. Knitangle by Andrea Halasi

The thing that surprises me most is that I like these fairly feminine knits . . . and I’m pretty  much a tom-boy through and through. So, I think what I like about these is the basic creation of an incredible fabric–I can take-or-leave the wearable part. And I wish there was some need for beautiful swaths of fabric in my life. So, maybe I’ll just make these and leave them hanging off the back of the couch or the kitchen chairs. Beauty is beauty, after all 🙂

This entry was posted in big questions, inspiration, knitting, pattern, shawl, why?. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’ll show you mine if you explain yours . . .

  1. Alina says:

    Beautiful collection! I don’t wear shawls myself, and I started making them just a couple of years ago. They make perfect gifts – you don’t have to worry about sizing!

    Like

  2. dystini says:

    Just wear them. I’m a t-shirt or sweatshirt kind of person and I wear my shawls all the time, both fancy lacy ones and plainer ones. When I get cold, I grab a shawl, whatever one strikes my fancy at the time. Doesn’t need to match my clothes (unless I’m leaving the house.) I do take it off if I’m doing something messy or when it might get in the way. Just knot the ends together or use a shawl pin. My pin is a driftwood stick but I’ve also used a dpn.

    If you can’t bring yourself to wear them, use them as wall art. Frame them or just drape them on nails/hooks in the wall.

    Like

  3. polwygle says:

    I was like you, too. I took a lace knitting class for which the project was a half-square triangular shawl. I chose some dark grey yarn. I never in a million years thought I would actually wear the grey shawl, but I do, I really do! I made a board on Pinterest on how to wear scarves and shawls. I check to see if the models in the pattern photos are wearing the shawls in a true-to-life fashion. I find that I like wearing the triangular shawl with the pointy end up front, like an over-sized kerchief. I made a half-circular shawl over the summer, but I haven’t figured out how to wear that one yet… I think my next one will be another half-square triangle shawl, in a cheery two-tone color this time.

    Like

  4. A shawl can work just like a scarf. Wrap it around your neck, enjoy the softness of yarn and stay warm! They’re a great way to wear your knits all year around as they come in a greater variety of weights than scarves. And they do make lovely gifts

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

