Emergency Surgery . . .

As you know, I’ve been making some socks for a dear friend. Things have been going ok, except for the fact that I am a novice sock-maker and this time, I do not have the recipient’s foot in the house for testing and trying ons. When I made socks for me, well, heck, I carry my feet with me; and when it comes to Spencer, well, he does keep his feet in our house (at least some of the time). But Steve, well, Steve and his feet reside elsewhere  . . . and so, there were a few emergency surgeries involving length.

Luckily, I am completely comfortable with lifelines (at least in stockinette), so, a little threading, a little unraveling, and some new stitches meant the socks are good as new. I thought I would post a wee tutorial for other sock modifiers.

IMG_1921

Insert lifeline by picking up the right leg of each stitch (you’ll note that once you make it all the way around, it will look like you are one row higher–because you are, having gone once around–and that’s ok)

IMG_1924

Double check your line, take a deep breath, pull out the needles and rip rip rip . . .

IMG_1925

Once you are done, your lifeline should be holding up a single, aligned row of stitches

IMG_1926

Reinsert your needles and then remove your lifeline. Here, you can still see the lifeline and the needles. Be careful to reinsert the needles in the same sequence, if possible–here, I needed each needle to have 15 stitches and to begin and end at particular places on the sock. If you are uncertain about finding those places, you can leave stitch markers to guide you 🙂

And now, off to finish those socks!

 

 

This entry was posted in information, instruction, knitting, small projects, socks, solution, technique, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Emergency Surgery . . .

  1. metaspencer says:

    I tried this once and ended up jumping up a row with the lifeline — didn’t quite work out. Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the tutorial! I have a feeling this is going to come in handy for me in the near future.

    Like

  3. ooh, fantastically well done! lifelines are the best for ripping back, absolutely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alina says:

    You scared me with the title! Very nice tutorial, clear and precise!

    Like

Leave a Reply

