In Progress: Persian Dreams (Worsted)

My 2016 One-Year-One-Blanket is Persian Dreams (worsted) and I could not be more excited. Indeed, just writing up the 2016 To Learn List–and finding out that there was a worsted weight version of this fingering-weight blanket–got me motivated to go for it. Finally. After at least a year of considering. I also have a big tub of yarn from Feederbrook Farm–in whites, creams, variegated, and solid colors. I felt that it was destined to be a blanket and one day, while perusing the stash with Persian Dreams dancing in my head, it all became clear.

IMG_2346

So, I marshaled my colors, counted my whites, and figured out what I might be missing. The blanket calls for about 2400 yards of white–if you are going the traditional route–and then about 13 other colors. I had almost enough Corriedale from Feederbrook, plus a skein of Fin, and a skein of Polworth. I added to this 2 skeins of KnitPicks Bare (DK), one skein of MadTosh “Farmhouse” and figured I could make up the rest as I went along (if I was really off in my yardage count. As for the other colors, I had about 10/13 and only needed to order a couple of small balls of KnitPicks Wool of the Andes to supplement. Granted: the colors will be a bit different than the pictures, and the weights will be somewhere between DK and worsted, but in the end, it’s a blanket, not rocket science, and I love the idea of a scrappy color-worked blanket from (mostly) indy wool.

I printed my color pattern at my local library, waited for my KP yarn supplement to arrive, and worked on some socks to keep me busy. Plus, I needed to cake up most of the Feederbrook yarn outside: I found that in caking it up, a fine layer of dust settled on my table and a lot of sniffling came from my (only recently) recovered sinuses. Now, don’t get me wrong, this yarn is amazing! It just happens to be straight from the farm and, as a result, it’s a wee bit dustier than commercial yarns tend to be. Solution found: wind it outside and let the gentle breeze carry away the crumblies. There was one truly lovely day this past week: Friday. Skies were sunny, temperatures were in the 40s, and there was very little wind. So, I took my yarn operation outside.

I am all caked at this point, and I watched numerous YouTube videos about circular cast ons, M1T and M1A–omg, I am still messing these up! Something is wrong with my spacial sense when it comes to these relatively simple increases . . . And I have begun the process of remembering that I am still *learning* how to do stranded color work. So, yes, this blanket will take some time–perhaps even the whole year? The nice part: it does not have to meet gauge and, as I understand it, some folks have even learned color work while making this very blanket. May the knitting spirits be with me!

This entry was posted in blanket, choices, color palette, de-stashing, indie, knitting, organization, outside, preparation, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Progress: Persian Dreams (Worsted)

  1. Alina says:

    Good luck with this exciting project! Love the idea of one blanket a year!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Thanks! I think I will need the luck–have you much experience with color work? Favorite resources? I’m going to Craftsy right now . . . and probably my guild-mates 🙂

      Like

  2. Kit Dunsmore says:

    Your excitement is contagious. I feel like I should be knitting Right Now. 😉

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      🙂 oh me too–I have been working out my semester schedule trying to figure out if I can knit and teach at the same time (my guess is NO, but still . . .)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kit Dunsmore says:

        I’ve got deadlines I need to hit prepping for a quilt show so I think most of my creative time is going to be sewing for the next two months…

        Like

Leave a Reply

