First Fiber

So, I volunteered to teach an enrichment class at my local middle school–the same one where my son goes to 6th grade. And . . . it was approved! The best part: this is not a class with books and exams, but a class about fiber! My first–and, likely for the 7th and 8th graders, their first as well. I’m so excited. My guildies even came through with some drop spindles, knitting needles, and even some fiber–those ladies are the best!

I should have 4-5 students for about 4-5 weeks; the class meets once a week in the afternoon for about one hour.

So here is the plan: I’m going to introduce them to almost raw wool with some of the washed fibers I have from various breeds. Then, a bit of fiber prep and drop spindling. We’ll then move on to some knitting (maybe a dishcloth or a cell phone case). Finally, I’ll introduce them to the world of patterns and help them find a next project for them to work on on their own over the summer.

Have I said I’m excited?! Any advice for teaching fiber is welcome! I’d love to hear your stories 🙂

This entry was posted in community, fiber, fiber prep, fleece to knit, handspun, knitting, sharing, teaching, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Fiber

  1. BeeJeweled says:

    This is a wonderful idea! So glad you got it approved. Let me know if you need any help or supplies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. knittedblissjc says:

    that is so exciting, you are going to do an amazing job inspiring the next generation of knitters and crafters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

