Ravelry: Looking Backward and Forward

Ahhh, Ravelry. One of my favorite spaces in which to play. I love the blog and the progress it records in this knitting life, but Ravelry . . . well, that is a fine distillation of the finished projects. Sometimes I’ll just hit the pattern link with nothing specified just to see what’s new with all of you designers and makers out there.

I’d love to see your Ravelry line ups! And know how you use the site: for FOs, for WIP encouragement, to meet new crafters, to keep up with “what’s hot?”Leave me a comment and share how you use the site. In the meantime, I’ll just leave a small snapshot of a few FOs to keep you occupied πŸ™‚

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 5.17.34 PM.png

mlittlefield’s Ravelry Projects Page

This entry was posted in community, FO, knitting, unexpected. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ravelry: Looking Backward and Forward

  1. bonnyknits says:

    I can definitely get lost in Ravelry, but I don’t use it as a social media site as much. I use it to find patterns, keep track of my WIPs and FOs, but I don’t get involved in forums or groups much. But I also like to lurk and look at other people’s projects. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Talya says:

    I’m the same as Bonny. I use it to find patterns, and to keep track of my projects. I do like swaps, so I like to hop around and find cool swaps to join. Swapping is just FUN!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Swapping! on Rav? Whoa! I need info!

      Like

      • Talya says:

        Oh yeah- tons of swaps. Usually you’re sending a package of $20-$30 in content. That usually one or two skeins of yarn, and some other goodies you think the recipient will like. Some swaps request that you also knit/crochet/craft something for the recipient, but that is not always the case.

        In my current swap (that goes out at the end of the month), you craft something medium-sized (or three small items) for the recipient, and then send goodies with that. The theme is Gardening. I’m not too keen on the theme, but that group has a policy that as a newbie- you can’t participate in larger swaps until you complete a mini-one. This is the mini one.

        Like

  3. chrisknits says:

    I use it for the recording of FOs. I also have a Flickr for that, but Rav does allow me to easily record info about the yarn and dates.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      absolutely love the ability to keep notes about projects. I have never worried too much about things getting wiped from Rav, but if they did–oh, the digital memories that would be lost!!

      Like

  4. My queue contains everything I might possibly want to knit someday. It has almost 500 items in it, so I’d better not die anytime soon. I love having a record of things I’ve knit–unfortunately, I was knitting for 50 years by the time they invented it. And I have a forum that I absolutely must check at least twice a day. I have a friend who joined just to use it to keep track of her stash.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Yes! I have not used the queue–I tend to just favorite things and see when inspiration strikes–but I can see hoe that would be helpful . . . even if one has 500 items in the list πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Amy says:

    I use it for everything πŸ™‚ but I especially like that I can keep track of my ever-expanding collection of books and magazines. I love the searches that you can do on ravelry too.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      I just discovered the whole book/magazine library feature last year and LOVE it! Such a fun way to keep a library of patterns!

      Like

  6. Carie says:

    I’ve got all my FOs there and my queue for things I have the yarn for and my favourites for inspiration. I love the bundles feature for mini lists of things to knit for each child – ah big Ravelry love around here!!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      So organized!! I love it! I have yet to enter my yarn into the stash feature, but think it’s a wonderful idea πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

