C-U Spinners and Weavers Guild

Well, folks, it looks like I’ll be working as vice-president of the C-U Spinners and Weavers Guild next year! One of my spinner friends nominated me and, yep, you know me–how could I say no. The official “vote” was last eve, and while my guild likes to make things official, I suspect that they were mostly just happy to have a willing person 🙂

I am very excited about this next year as I will have the opportunity to plan monthly events for the guild meetings. I’m not a big fan of event planning, but gah, if I don’t sign up for and set up a lot of events at work, at home, and now . . . for the guild. So, I must have a small soft spot for a well-run happening. So here’s the plan:

  1. Poll the ladies of the guild to see what they want to do this year
  2. Schedule all of the annual events–those things that stay the same year to year
  3. Foster some new shenanigans! I have a few ideas up my sleeve 🙂

In the meantime, I am going to enjoy my non-vice-presidency (i.e. vice-president elect) status for a few more months and pay close attention to how things work around here.

Next week: I plan to bring a little bit of The Fiber Event at Greencastle back to the blog! I am counting my pennies, bracing the boys for their fiber festival introduction–they may just bring a frisbee–and thinking about which portable project to bring round the booth…

I’ll see you back here next week for some fiber fun.

This entry was posted in community, people, special, spinners and weavers guild, unexpected. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to C-U Spinners and Weavers Guild

  1. They’re lucky to have someone with some new ideas! And I look forward to seeing some of the Fiber Event–I loved going there when I lived in IN.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Thanks! I’m hoping to learn even more about the CUSWG culture as I go and find events that will work for lots of folks. And yes to Greencastle! I cannot wait!! When were you in IN?

      Like

  2. Rain says:

    Congratulations! So sad that I won’t be spending the summer in CU as I’d hoped so that I could attend your events! Maybe next summer (and of course, will try to schedule any shorter visits around your events!)…

    Like

Leave a Reply

