Teaching Tweens: Drop Spindle or BUST!

IMG_2689.JPG

This week, I taught my last “Fun with Fiber” class at the local middle school. As I said in Lessons Learned, I think I learned about as much as the kids, at least in terms of how to teach about fiber and knitting. We had a snack party on the last day; to my surprise, once the Mountain Dew was poured (their choice, not mine!), the Oreos were consumed, and the chips were crunched, they all settled down and asked me to walk them through the steps of knitting one more time. Oh, my heart just about burst: my class of busy tweens all wanted to cast on, knit, purl, and bind off one last time so they would remember how.

I was also surprised because I had imagined this as a fiber class first and a knitting class second. I had big aspirations about breeds, fiber preparation, and spinning. I had originally figured we would spend about one class on knitting–at the end. What folly! Luckily, my brain kicked in just in time (before the first class) and I switched over to knitting first and fiber second. Indeed, we did get to drop spindles–which were provided by a wonderful guild mate (thanks, Esther!)–but the kids did not take to spinning as I had hoped. Then again, I am not a drop spindler myself . . . so maybe that has something to do with it πŸ™‚ I’m sure there are excellent drop spindle teachers out there who could motivate any kids!

I was sad to see the kids leave on that last day–I suppose we bonded over yarn and needles. I sent them on their way with yarn and I’m thinking the unthinkable: about the prospect of teaching this class again!

This entry was posted in drop spindle, fiber, instruction, kids, spinning, teaching, tricks and tips, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teaching Tweens: Drop Spindle or BUST!

  1. notewords says:

    Teaching goes both ways! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. knittedblissjc says:

    aw, that is so sweet that it was such a success! I”m not surprised they wanted more of the doing rather than learning about production, I think kids always prefer the hands-on to seeing/hearing information. Sounds like you were a big hit with them. And hooray for grooming a new generation of knitters, you are doing a good thing!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      yes–and they LOVEd the knitting. I was so happy (and sad to leave them!) I hope they keep up the craft, if they like it. I gave them little certificates that encouraged them to pass on the skills they learned–when they clapped for each other, i knew we had accomplished something very real and special πŸ™‚ Thanks!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

