Dye Day!

My guild (the CU Spinners and Weavers Guild) hosts an annual Dye Day each spring–in addition to the Natural Dye Day in the fall. I should say, more specifically, that the excellent, awesome, and amazing Beth hosts Dye Day . . . wow. She opens her home, spreads out the tarps, and mixes all the dyes. Of course, Jackie, Debbie, and a number of others are a huge presence at the event–Debbie even pulled out her notes from the recent online dying classย and helped keep me on track. So, first and foremost: THANKS to everyone for making Sunday morning an excellent dyeing experience. Love it. The photos below are courtesy of Z (my dear boy).

The set-up!
Everything needed to soak in an acid bath for at least 30 minutes prior to dyeing; tarps covered the floor just in case; dyes were tested on paper towels. I only stuck my hand in the acid bath once before Debbie gently reminded me I should don a pair of gloves.

The Dying!
We could choose from a number of great colors and we all did a hand painting method. We dyed everything on plastic wrap and then rolled it up in little packages and tripled wrapped the fibers or yarns.

And Spencer kept busy with a guild surprise–a warping lesson from Sharon!

The Steam!
Some of us took our dyed fibers home to set them; I chose this option for a few reasons, but mostly because I wanted to have a hand in each stage of the process. Debbie warned me that this process can smell bad; because of that advice, and because I agree with Spencer that all of the dyeing should be done outside of the house/kitchen, we opted for the turkey roaster on the hibachi. The fiber steamed in a double boiler inside its plastic wrap for 45 minutes. Then, we allowed it to cool all the way down–this took a few hours.

Final Results!
For a first go, this is pretty exciting. Z helped me with the fiber and he dyed his own skein! To my eyes, this is quite an outcome and I’m so glad to have finally tried acid dyes.

This last skein you see was dyed by Z! It’s a MadTosh SW Merino “Vintage” base that was basically off-white; Z chose his colors wisely–it came out beautifully. I’ll post pictures of the other skeins and roving in the days to come.

This entry was posted in color, dyeing, experiment, fiber, learning, spinners and weavers guild, Uncategorized, yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dye Day!

  1. Roxane says:

    Oh, congratulations! What fun! And it’s so wonderful to be able to do projects like this with friends–I miss my dyeing buddies back in Indiana so much that I hardly ever do it any more. The roaster on the hibachi is a great idea. I look forward to seeing how the acid dyes turn out on the Vintage base.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Thanks, Roxane! I would not have done this without the guild, that’s for sure! I will post picks of the MadTosh–it came out great! I hope you find some fiber peeps around you soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. BeeJeweled says:

    Great time was had by all. Great pictures, Z! I hope now we have you hooked and you are already thinking about the next dye day!

    Like

  3. AlohaBlu says:

    Congrats on your first acid dye projects ๐Ÿ™‚ They came out lovely and hopefully you’ll do more!!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Thanks! I think I am hooked given how things came out–and my husband actually said: “I totally get it now–dyeing your own fiber and yarn is so worth it!” I hope you are doing well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

