Guild Event Planning

Just this past week, I realized I need to get into Guild-mode! My gig as VP started as of May and I need to get a list of events lined up so that they can be printed in the annual Year Book for the guild! Ahhhhhh! Wait, no, that’s not right . . . I refuse to panic. Remember, this is a *fun* volunteer gig for a group that I love!

Planning, Phase 1: Brainstorm

I have been checking out other guilds, our own guild archives, and thinking like a blogger in hopes that some ideas will float to the top of my brain. Thus far, I have a few things percolating *and* I have learned a thing or three about our guild’s history.

Planning, Phase 2: Set-up

I’ll be meeting with the current President tomorrow for some tea and talking. She planned all of the events for last year–and they were pretty awesome. So, I’m looking forward to picking her brain, presenting my possibilities, and seeing what she thinks about the 2016-2017 guild year.

Planning, Phase 3: Invitations

There are a few speakers on my list (shhhh, it’s a surprise!) and so, once Jennifer and I agree on some directions, I’ll be sending out some feelers. I’d love to bring in some local shepherds, Skype in some fun fiber artists, and get some regional guilds together. Invitations pending!

Has anyone else out there been a guild event planner/VP? I’d love to know how you tackle the task of event planning πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in community, event planning, fiber art, spinners and weavers guild. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guild Event Planning

  1. Alina says:

    I’ve never been in the guild myself, but I would love to join one someday! Good luck!!!

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      Thanks! I have heard mixed reviews of some other guilds, but I must say: I love my crew! They are super supportive, generous and funny πŸ™‚ I hope you find one that you love someday!

      Like

Leave a Reply

