Yarning in Paris!

This past week, I traveled to Paris for the first time, and as you could guess, I was very curious about the yarn scene in this French city of cities. After some quick research, two shops emerged as front-runners, not only because of their inventory, but also because of their relative proximity to where we were staying. Just like most cities, we ran around Paris on foot and so could only cover certain distances in a day.

First up, La Droguerie! This lovely shop caught my eye, in part, because of the protocol customers have to follow. All of the yarns lining the walls are samples and so, you must find what you want, get in the queue, and request it from the shop keeps. I did not purchase anything here–my French is a bit rusty and this was Day 1 . . . I’ll be the first to admit my defeat and embarrassment about letting a decade of French lessons go unused. But, in my defense, by Day 3 I was chatting it up–if only in present tense.

IMG_3675IMG_3676

The second shop we visited was La Bien Amiée (a sister store to L’Oisive Thé, Salon de Thé et Tricot, which serves both tea and yarn!) I wanted to visit this shop simply because of the beautiful yarn I saw online. Oh my! And, irony of ironies, one of my FB group-mates just mail ordered some of their yarn–it’s just a pretty as the skeins I picked up from the shop. Go there–online or in person–you will not be disappointed!

IMG_3828.JPG

The store front is pretty nondescript–in fact, it has no sign . . . but the space inside is fun and full of pretty hand-dyed skeins. I chatted up the proprietress about fiber shops in the area and she said that while knitting is big in Paris, spinning has not caught on. Hmm, maybe one of us should move there and get things going, eh?

When not frequenting yarn shops, I found a few quiet places to knit, such as the Jardin du Luxembourg, a magical place where perfect children happily play with boats in the fountain.

IMG_3791IMG_3792

Next time, more info on the socks you see here!

This entry was posted in community, found, Knit in public, knitting, LYS, Paris, travel, unexpected, yarn, yarn-lover. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarning in Paris!

  1. polwygle says:

    Oh how lovely. I am envious of your trip. 🙂

    Like

  2. Alina says:

    Thank so much for sharing!! Travel/yarn shop posts are always my favorite – it is so fascinating to see how the craft is growing in other countries!

    Like

  3. Verónica says:

    I want to go to that store!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

