Video Tutorial: Polypay, Dyed and Spun

As you might remember, I dyed up some Polypay pencil roving at our C-U Spinners and Weavers Guild Dye Day. It’s about 2 oz of awesome, so not enough for a full skein . . . but I have not spun Polypay before, nor have I spun up any fiber I have dyed, and so, a 2 ox experiment began.

Given the way it was dyed (with a repeating pattern) I divided the roving in half–note, I did not split the roving, as it is already quite thin; instead, I just pulled the length apart in the middle. I spun each 1 oz portion on a separate bobbin and then plied the halves together. Voila!

IMG_3873IMG_3876IMG_3884.JPG

Oh, and for those of you into natural fibers: I found it super interesting to spin some natural fiber again–especially after a few braids of superwash. I much prefer it, even if it comes out a little more wooly and wild and imperfect. Now, to skein it up and add it to my bag of minis!

This entry was posted in breed, dyeing, experiment, Polypay, spinners and weavers guild, spinning, Uncategorized, video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

