Finding My Way, I Mean WIP . . .

I never thought I would be a knitter with unfinished projects. UFOs, we call them–aliens that we hardly recognize. But, years into this hobby, I must admit to a few lurking UFOs in my stash. I don’t often see them, largely because I have literally stashed them away, out of sight, out of mind. But every once in a while I find a bag with some yarn and needles and a scrap of fabric and I think, “Oh dear . . .”

Some, I have no intention of ever finishing: there is that first big project–an entrelac scarf that unnecessarily suffers in its project bag because I knew nothing about fine yarns and chose a scratchy acrylic from a big box store. There is the first lace project that sits in a plastic sac because I knew nothing about weight and chose a chunky yarn instead of a fine yarn. And then there are the projects that are, really, more like WIPs in waiting. A second knee sock, for example, that I LOVE, but just can’t seem to find the time to get back into.

Today, a quick pick me up for all of us eyeing those WIPs (or true UFOs) that need some new life! Some real strategies for getting back into the work–and play–of it all:

  1. Bring it out! Pull that project out of the shadows and put it someplace where you can see it, remember it, and maybe even work on it!
  2. Refresh! Particularly for complex patterns: give yourself some time to look things over without the pressure of crafting. Go through the steps, retrace your stitches and remember where you are in the pattern–the time spent with the project might just peak your interest again and remind you of all of the hours you’ve already spent.
  3. Fall back in love! Look at FO’s of your pattern on Ravely and read all of the happy crafter’s notes about how much they love their socks, scarves, sweaters, or mittens.
  4. Take it on the road! One way to recommit is to bring your project with you on your morning commute, to the dentist’s waiting room, to your next faculty meeting. If you are truly bored, you may find that this WIP/UFO of yours is much, much more interesting.
  5. Get to work! Sometimes, the only way in is by putting in some minutes–or hours. Once you’ve had a chance to complete some rows, ask yourself: Do you still like it? Does it still tickle your fancy? If not, maybe it’s time to let it go!
  6. FROG IT. Yep, I said it. If all else fails and you really are uninterested, I’ll join the chorus of crafters to say: it’s OK to let it go.

Now, if I can only take my own advice, I’ll be back into these knee socks in no time!

This entry was posted in knitting, not knitting, tricks and tips, UFO, Uncategorized, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

