Found: Rachel Smith

I’ll admit to being a bit of a Podcast junkie . . . especially when traveling or working out on the internet free farm in New York. Download and go. And, of course, knitting and spinning related podcasts are the best–we all agree, I’m sure.

So, you can imagine my happiness when I stumbled upon Rachel Smith of welfordpurs.com. I was catching up on some Spencer TV (as we like to call it) and also sneaking in some knitting technique videos for the hot pants I’m knitting–more on that soon–when lo and behold, there was a new face in my “suggested” YouTube video sidebar. Hmm, I thought, this could be neat. After about 2 minutes, I was swept away in love with Rachel’s podcast, her energy and enthusiasm, and her focus on handknits from handspun yarn.

If you have never seen her “Wool n’ Spinning”podcast, I’m linking to the latest post below . . . but luckily for you and me, this is episode 37, which means there are 36 other episodes to enjoy! Talk about spinning TV. Yes, please! I immediately went to episode #1.

For me, the best things about this podcast are:

  1. A real focus on handspinning–how to sample, how to spin for a purpose, how to test and measure and evaluate the yarn you’re creating.
  2. Rachel’s can-do attitude. She is undaunted by any amount of fiber; she likes to sample and try things out–no worries about wasting fiber etc; and she believes in improvement through practice.
  3. Inspiration: You’ve heard me say this before about other podcasters I love, such as Sarah of Fiber Trek. Like many of us, these ladies have a lot going on in their lives, but they prioritize their craft and that’s an inspiration for all of us! Plus, I learned things about drafting and fiber preparation (from the first few episodes alone!) that I have been wondering about for years.

In short, I want to savor each episode, do what Rachel does–in terms of sampling and trying out fiber and techniques, and enjoy a small window into the life of another fiber enthusiast. Rachel, if you’re out there: thank you! I can’t wait to learn more!

 

This entry was posted in community, fleece to knit, found, handspun, knitting, spinner, spinning, unexpected, unicorns. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Found: Rachel Smith

  1. Roxane says:

    Thanks for putting me onto this! I’m sharing your post on Facebook so my spinning group can see this.

    Like

  2. Rachel says:

    Your words are incredibly kind! Thank you Melissa! I’d love to be “interviewed” by you anytime – I’ve added your blog to my reader, too. Thank you for writing your posts and sharing your enthusiasm too!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

