Cable On! And Help with Cable Corners

As I’ve mentioned a few times, my blanket-a-year project for 2016 is the Stornoway Throw by Anita Grahn. It’s a bit behind (a few other projects took precedence)  . . . but now, I’m back on track and cabling up a storm The entire edge of the blanket is a beautiful interlocking cable pattern and it’s getting to be quite the chunky blanket! Following the excellent advice of some Ravelers before me, I used a provisional cast on for the edge–that way, when I come around the other side, I can use the live stitches for a kitchener join. Once this blanket is complete, I’ll be looking forward to a year of colorwork with the Persian Dreams Worsted Blanket.

img_5020img_5025

I had to message a friend on Sunday night for some help with the Right and Left Cable Corners (a minor part of the pattern, but with big consequences!) Luckily for me, my FB groups are full of ladies who know their cables! For anyone else out there working on this blanket, here is what I learned in plain English:

  • Right Cable Corner: 2/1RC: move two stitches from the left to the right needle, put the third stitch on a cable needle in back of the work, move the first two stitches back to the left needle, and proceed to knit the stitches from the cable needle and then the left needle.
  • Left Cable Corner: 2/1 LC: you slip one from left to right put your next 2 stitches on your cable needle in the front slip your first stitch back to the left knit the two from the cable needle then knit 1

Go forth! Cable on! And have some good friends to call when you’re in need!

This entry was posted in blanket, cables, help!, instruction, knitting, Uncategorized, year-long. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cable On! And Help with Cable Corners

  1. madgeface says:

    That throw is gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Alina says:

    Gorgeous texture! And it is so so nice to be a part of this community – you can always count on help!

    Like

    • Thanks! Coming from you (a cable master!) that means a lot. And yes, thanks to the community, I was able to get some help with turning the corner of the blanket as well! Those wraps and short rows gave me fits for the first time ever . . . weird!?

      Like

  3. The Greyt Knitter says:

    Wow. Love the cornered cables!

    Like

  4. Linda says:

    Thank you for posting the instructions in plain English. I have been working on this pattern for several months and got stuck on deciphering the Cable Corner instructions. Now I can move forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kirsten says:

    Thank you!! This post was perfect. I’m also knitting this blanket and just got stuck at those instructions.

    Glad you’ve got lots of knitter pals with lots of knowledge to share. Thanks again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Betty Steil says:

    I struggled for hours trying to figure out the right/left corner cables and finally “goggled” right corner cable. I found your site. THANK YOU SO MUCH. I’m back to work on the blanket and hope it turns out as beautiful as yours.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

