Fort Collins and Loveland, CO 2016

20161213_142104

Jennifer Rose Guyor –and me!–in Loveland, CO 2016

As I mentioned in an earlier post, this week was largely devoted to family–my father-in-law is ill and so we took a much needed trip to offer some support. Things are as good as can be expected, and there were several hours of down-time each day while everyone rested, worked, and generally recuperated.

Fort Collins and Loveland, CO are fiber-havens; going to either city can be a pilgrimage site of sorts, and, thanks to a “Spin-and-Send” back in 2015, I have a lovely friend who lives and works in Loveland. So, on Tuesday, I took a small trip to visit her. In trying times, there is nothing like a friendly fiber face! Jennifer Rose Guyor is the creative mind behind Wild Lily Artisan Fibers, the marketing manager of Aniroonz Sheep Co., and a wonderful person with which to share some tea! I shared an interview with Jennifer back in 2015 and we’re now working on a nifty post about what’s new for her and for Aniroonz Sheep Co!–stay tuned!

Thanks to Jennifer, I had an excellent fleece tour of some new-to-me breeds; saw some beautiful pelts; and smelled a few ram-fleece! Whew! She sent me home with some CVM and a longwool fleece. Getting them on the plane ought to be interesting! I cannot wait to get processing and spinning. I think the CVM might get a cold soak before I spin it in the grease–it’s that clean and beautiful. Consider heading to Jennifer’s website to check out her beautiful fiber work–and a new series on her blog!

20161213_155145

CVM fleece from Aniroonz Sheep Co.–gorgeous!

20161213_141345

Karakul fleece from Aniroonz Sheep Co.–the colors on the tips were amazing!

20161213_141544

Sheep pelt–Aniroonz Sheep Co.–so much variety here!

When we returned home, I shared the fleece with my mom-in-law, an avid knitter who had not yet encountered a raw fleece. We had some terrific fun drafting and “spinning” a few locks. It was a relaxing way to pass an hour or so and kept everyone’s thoughts occupied.

Back home, I’m sending love to my CO-family and many thanks to Jennifer for taking me in for the afternoon and sending me home with some fiber-memories.

This entry was posted in breed, community, CVM, fiber artist, fleece, found, knitting, patterns, raw fleece, travel, unexpected, unicorns. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fort Collins and Loveland, CO 2016

  1. Alina says:

    What a great event! And it is so nice to share your passion with your loved ones!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    Lady it was TOO short. We need a retreat…perhaps to Maine? Copper K? I’ll pick you up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

