To-Learn List 2017

In the spirit of lists-past and with an eye towards growing and changing and learning more, I present my 2017 To Learn list in all its promising glory:

  • Practice and get more comfortable with colorwork (fair isle)
  • Be a test-knitter–I have one on the line already!!
  • Knit at least one practical sweater from my stash: Minthe?  Georgetown?
  • Conquer the Geology shawl that thwarted me in the past
  • Grow the Podcast and add more video tutorials!
  • Continue to work on lace and cables–learn their construction as much as possible
  • Continue the one year, one blanket tradition! This time, Feederbrook Farm yarn; the plan: a Persian Dreams Blanket that I have been dreaming about for 2+ years now–there is even a worsted version available!
  • Keep a pair of socks on the needles at all times
  • Check out a yarn shop in every city I visit ( . . . if it has a yarn shop)
  • Spin at least 1/3 of the braids in my stash (whoa–that alone could take a while)
  • Card or otherwise process at least 1/3 of the washed fiber in my stash
  • Buy less yarn and fiber–remember, the sheep will grow more!

What’s on your list? Share a link or give us an update on your plans in the comments! Happy New Year to everyone!

This entry was posted in challenging, knitting, learning, lists, plans, spinning, to learn. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to To-Learn List 2017

  1. Liz says:

    That looks like a busy but very achievable list. Sounds like fun times ahead, I like the ‘visit a yarn shop’ idea! I haven’t yet made a list but the more I see them popping up the more I’m tempted …

    Like

  2. Mary Giger says:

    You have me thinking seriously about what I’d like to accomplish.
    I’d like to spin a sweater quantity and knit the “Choice” sweater by Alina at Gift of Knitting. I love her textured designs.
    That should take me all year!
    Oh and accumulate more braids for a combo spin someday.

    Like

  3. Great list, thanks for posting it! I think the idea of a blanket a year is great – very achievable and productive over the long haul. Awesome idea, too, to also always be sock-knitting in some form – it’s one of the few year-round wearable knits. I’m also hoping to up my colorwork skills this year. After a slightly puckered attempt last year, I’m giving another go. Happy making!

    Like

    • I’m with you on the color-work . . . mine is slowly improving. Very slowly. The blankets are funny: I think they are consistently the only finished objects that end up staying with me! I have not yet given one away, perhaps because of the number of hours involved! I have been gifted crochet blankets and I adore them–my aunt gave our family two and they are on our beds all winter long.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. polwygle says:

    Ooh, give me a heads up if you are going to do the Geology shawl. I am interested in making one, too, now that I’ve learned about it. 🙂 I think instead of doing one blanket a year like you, I’ll do one socially acceptable blanket (i.e., a shawl).

    Like

  5. Wow, that’ll keep you out of mischief! I’m looking forward to seeing how you get on. This year, I want to tackle digital illustration and learn a bit more about wet felting!

    Like

  6. Debbie says:

    I think this year will be a study of Shawlettes. Maybe even write my own pattern! I also need to read more books, a hobby that is really tidy, for a change!

    Like

    • You should write your own, Debbie. And, if your recent projects are any indication, it’s totally going to be the year of the shawl. I love how you have gone through so many versions of the same shawl with your homespun and other yarns. So helpful to see the differences.

      Like

  7. What a great list! Full of awesome goals, I’ll be cheering you on!

    Like

  8. Nicky says:

    I love your list! The flu stopped me from posting this week, but mine is similar; I’ll post more this week coming.

    I’m rooting for you! Every year I start with the best of intentions then at some point in the year I’m asking “what happened?” LOLOL! This year, I have a plan and I want to stick to it.

    Like

    • Hey Nicky–I so rarely get through my lists! But they are a nice guide and I like to circle around and around them until I eventually learn all the things . . . that could take a while. I’ll be looking for your list!

      Like

  9. AlohaBlu says:

    That’s an awesome list!! Keep us posted as you go along. I am going to *try* double-knitting (again) this year. I couldn’t get my brain around it last year, but I’m not giving up yet. Good luck to us both! 🙂

    Like

  10. Pingback: Blackberries and Cream Test-Knit | Knitting the Stash!

Leave a Reply

