FO: Rocket Ship Socks

I mentioned these socks in Episode 8 of the podcast, where I discussed the intentional color-pooling experiment that is central to these socks. The base pattern is a play on Susan B. Anderson’s “How I Make My Socks” to which I added ribbing, contrasting heels and toes, and a larger cast-on number of stitches for bigger feet. The socks are knit out of Miss Babs 2-ply Yummy in the “Rockteship” colorway for my dear, bus-renovator, Spencer. The heels and toes are the “Lagoon” colorway from Knitting in France–a new to me indie dyer that I love very, very much. And I was so intrigued by the colorplay between these two colorways. Here are tons of pictures from all sides so that you can check out the pooling.

img_5245img_5247img_5248img_5249

 

This entry was posted in color, color pooling, colorway, FO, heels and toes, knitting, Knitting in France, Miss Babs, sock yarn, socks, unicorns. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FO: Rocket Ship Socks

  1. metaspencer says:

    Rocket!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful socks!! That yarn is fabulous:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely. I like the subtle colour difference at the toe and gusset. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How cool! In the last photo, the stripes on the legs of the two socks actually seem to line up and form one continuous pattern… Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sheri Ahner says:

    Sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

