Surprise: Yarn Bowl!

IMG_4795

I don’t think I’ve told you all about the beautiful yarn bowl in my craft room. It’s a lovely, ceramic piece that would be perfect for working with a loose ball of yarn (or two); it even has guide holes in the back should you want to keep the yarns from twisting (for colorwork, say). It’s one of my favorite non-fiber objects in the yarn room, and every time I see it, I smile just a little.

This yarn bowl was gifted to me by one of my wonderful graduate students, who wrote an excellent dissertation about Title IX and early proponents of the law. It arrived, a few years after her defense, very unceremoniously, in my office mailbox. I carted the package upstairs and used my keys to crack through the packing tape. And there, inside, was a sweet note and this beautiful bowl. This once-student, Ellyn, and I are friends on Facebook, and she is an inspiring woman to know. As we have moved on from committee member-student to real world friends, she has taken to noticing my fiber addiction–and, I might add–being quite supportive of the whole enterprise. What a treat to have not only the beautiful object, but the connection and friendship all wrapped into a fiber-related tool. Ellyn, if you’re reading this: THANK YOU for the many years of learning, teaching, and friendship!

This entry was posted in community, friends, tools, unexpected, yarn, yarn bowl, yarn-lover. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Surprise: Yarn Bowl!

  1. What a great bowl and gift from your student. Such a beautiful symbol, too. May your yarn bowl always be full! 🙂

    Like

  2. Oooooh, it’s lovely! What a thoughtful gift… And so much more elegant than the Ziploc bags I use to keep my yarns tidy 😆

    Like

Leave a Reply

