Loop by Casapinka

I have joined a couple of sock yarn clubs–something I was always skeptical of doing. But I love surprises and there are very few *good* surprises in life, thus: sock yarn clubs! But this means that I have an even bigger bin of variegated yarns (I know, I know, *problems*? lol)

IMG_20170429_093324

I’ve long looked for patterns that break up variegated yarns, allowing them to shine, but not overpower. So, I was super excited to find “Loops” by Casapinka. I had just received a lovely skein from Megan of Old Crow ArtYarns, colorway “The Wolfman,” in her Fiber Fright Box. And, a lovely skein of sock yarn from Hedgehog Fibers in “Aqua Zoo.” Together, they are making something even more beautiful than they could create alone. I’ll talk about the shawl a bit more on Podcast 14, but for now, I’ll leave you with this beauty and a question: what are your favorite patterns for variegated yarns??

IMG_20170502_104522.jpg

This entry was posted in community, HedgeHog FIbers, knitting, Old Crow Art Yarns, shawl, sock yarn, unexpected, unicorns, variegated yarn, WIP, yarn, yarn-lover. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Loop by Casapinka

  1. Suzanne Turgeon says:

    My local yarn shop has the Loops pattern made as a shop sample. It is really lovely and I have a sock yarn put aside for it. I think I will use a grey hand spun as my base. I love your yarn colors and can’t wait to see it finished!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful combination. Can’t wait to see more! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca Roy says:

    I like to use very simple texture or lace with varigated yarns so the colours don’t compete with a busy pattern. Hundred Acre Wood by Helen Stewart is a fav, as well as the Chances Wrap by Charlotte Bory or Whiskyfield by Melanie Berg.

    If I’m really struggling with a yarn and I don’t want to give it away I often go to the yarn’s page on Ravelry and look at all the projects other people have made with it. Sometimes it inspires me or maybe just shows me something I don’t want to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I usually use very simple patterns, nothing too complex, so the colour variation of the yarn wont be overshadow by the pattern. one thing i want to really try is to crochet something with planned pooling. but that is possible only with specific variegated yarns

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh, how cool! I love those colours together. I have to admit that I don’t knit with variated yards that often… But I’m starting to think that might have to change! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Alina says:

    I rarely knit with variegated yarn, so I am not a big help here πŸ™‚ At the moment I love how my socks are coming out in very spring like colors!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

