Ella. Enchanted.

I started Ella this past week and (despite the cables and lace) I’m making fast progress! One of the items on my “To Learn” list for this year was top-down sweater construction, and my sweaters of late have given me much practice. Aileas is also a top-down sweater. But Ella is also giving me the chance to work on yoke construction as well! I’ve just joined fronts backs and sleeves and I’m about to move on down to the body. Such a lovely pattern and Jennifer Wood is an amazing designer!

IMG_20170524_160717

I am also intrigued by this yarn, which is Polka Dot Sheep Ski Town Sport–a SW yarn. I’ve *never* knit a sweater from SW yarn–indeed, I have actively avoided it! But this yarn has beautiful definition and a good hand. I’m satisfied that it will show the lace and cables off well AND that the drape will help to make this sweater’s fit excellent. Here i a close-up of the back lace and cable panel. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some charts to read . . .

IMG_20170524_160849

This entry was posted in knitting, superwash, sweater, top-down, WIP, Woodhouse Knits, yoke. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ella. Enchanted.

  1. this looks so pretty. i look forward seeing the final result

    Like

  2. Sondra says:

    Beautiful! I’m looking forward to seeing the finished project.

    *Sigh* Another pattern that is going to have to go on my “to do” list.

    Like

  3. Looking good, Melissa! I’m making the move to top-down sweaters too… There’s something a little magic about them, isn’t there? Happy knitting! 😀

    Like

    • Awesome, Helen! Can’t wait to see more 🙂 I like them much more than I thought I would and I’m finding that they are better fitting than I thought they would be. Not sure what I expected–because these top-down designers are great at what they do–but I really, really like the results and the ease of knitting so far!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, they adapt well to Beastie bodies too… And the real plus is that it gives a more relaxed posture for their little arms! I’m going to be changing up my Aran sweater pattern next, so watch this space. And hey, eventually I might get to make a human-sized one for myself! 😆

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

