Video Tutorial: Plying and a Very Lazy Kate

While in NY, I  was working away at some Zebra striped mill ends, sorting them roughly and spinning singles. Then, with two bobbins full, it was time to ply . . . but out there, I have no Tensioned Lazy Kate. What’s a girl to do? Improvise!

IMG_1039 IMG_1035

I grabbed my son’s shoe box (which is not bobbin storage central) two awls from house construction set, and rigged up a little Elizabeth Zimmerman on one side, and some Walking Dead on the other (for moral support, you know?) The tension is created by the bobbins rubbing on the cardboard–in the video below, you’ll hear the friction! Not ideal, but it worked just fine.

IMG_1036

And a new yarn was born! Here is a little video tutorial on the highlights of my plying knowledge. I have not been doing this very long, but perhaps it will help someone else down the path of plying . . .

This entry was posted in DIY, lazy kate, plying, spinning, video, Walking Dead, Zimmerman. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Video Tutorial: Plying and a Very Lazy Kate

  1. metaspencer says:

    Love it! DIY all the way. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment