Are You a Hat or a Sock Person?

One of my blog-heroes, SouleMama, recently noted that hats are the ultimate in portable knitting–that is, unless you are a sock knitter. This got me to thinking that maybe there is a division among us. That maybe one is a hat knitter or a sock knitter at heart. Let’s work through this, shall we?

Photo_on_1-29-14_at_12.32_PM__2_medium2

Case Study #1: I have knit plenty of hats. Hats with brims, hats with buttons, basic stocking caps, etc. And each time, I think to myself: “this is nice, simple knitting; it’s so great to have a project I can carry around (unlike that 4lb blanket or that gangly sweater)” But, I’m not super satisfied as I knit hats. I figured I was just a “big” project knitter–that I liked the challenge and stamina building work of afghans and sweaters; that maybe, just maybe, I’m not an accessory-girl. But . . . I love knitting mittens; so that theory is out.

IMG_7298_medium2

I thought I would never get into socks. My friend (and former student), who blogs at Traveling Sock Knitter, is way into socks–and shawls and other things too, don’t get me wrong. And looking around at the sock knitters among us, I guess I figured that to be a sock knitter meant joining some exclusive club where all one made was socks. Socks. Socks. Socks. Then I tried. With some of that fabulous self-striping yarn. And I was hooked. As you know, I cast on another pair the minute pair #1 was complete. Having just acquired more sock yarn, I can now say: my go-to small, traveling project is the humble sock–and definitely not the hat.

So, is it really that we are sock OR hat people? Probably not. But SouleMama sparked a question for me: are we, as knitters, generally divided on this front? Do we tend towards one or the other as our go-to project?

Case Study #2: My husband, who is also an intrepid knitter, just *loves* knitting hats. And I mean it: if he is knitting, it’s almost always a hat of one kind or another. The “big” project theory kind of applies to him: he’s not really up for projects that require a lot of needle time. But be also detests projects that require a lot of structural elements and pattern-following. Hmm, maybe he’s not the best example (lol).

IMG_0379_medium2ย ribbed.hat2_medium2

So, dear readers, I turn to you: are you hat OR sock knitters? A mix of both? The knitting world needs to have this debate settled!

This entry was posted in choices, hats, inspiration, knitting, picking sides, small projects, socks. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Are You a Hat or a Sock Person?

  1. Alina says:

    I haven’t made a single hat or a sock in my life. I am definitely a garment knitter! But if I had to choose, I would definitely go for hats!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Talya says:

    I am both. Both are portable, both are infinitely useful.

    Like

  3. Guenny says:

    Hat I guess. I haven’t perfected making socks. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The heel always seems so challenging.

    Like

  4. polwygle says:

    I think you have forgotten about the shawl niche knitters. A dear friend of mine almost exclusively knits lace due to the fact you can get more lace per yard than other heavier weights. As for myself, I wouldn’t mind being a sock knitter but as I have knit seven hats in the past month, I probably fall into the hat knitter category.

    Like

  5. Susan says:

    As someone who just signed up for knitting classes, it’s a bit too soon to say what my favorite will be. I only know I’ll be very excited to make either one.

    Like

  6. Carie says:

    I’m more socks than hats and the number of sock I’ve knit far exceeds the number of hats. But right now my sock drawer is full so while I’m wearing through them this winter my travel and any other knitting will be for the children.

    Like

    • lissymail says:

      kids knits seem so fun–and small! I wish I had gotten into knitting before my son was a teenager (he’s so big now!) and he doesn’t yet seem to like the woolies . . . but I’m working on him ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. meggiewes says:

    I haven’t made a lot of hats because I haven’t been willing to actually buy proper needles, but I love making socks! I started knitting just to learn how to make socks, so I am a sock knitter at heart. I am totally going to make a hat out of sock yarn though, so I think that counts.

    Like

  8. BeeJeweled says:

    I seem to go through phases. A couple of years ago I was in a shawl phase, then a reversible cable scarf phase. And, of course, the sock phase until my sock drawers were full! Now I’m in a fingerless mitts stage. Those are also great “waiting room” knitting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

