Searching for the Perfect Pink . . .

I have fallen in love with Isabell Kramer‘s new pattern, Aileas. Love at first sight, mind you–and that is saying something because, really, I have favorited most of her sweaters in Ravelry. Before the pattern even dropped (as it did this past Monday), I was swatching in a dreamy kind of way, just imagining the sweater work that was ahead of me–someday. And then, the pattern appeared! Luckily for me, my swatch was dried and measured up at the perfect gauge! What?!? But . . . it’s knit from the Shetland I kettle dyed this past fall, which is a deep purple. It’s a bit too dark, I am afraid, to show off the lovely details of this pattern. And, of course, Isabell has teased us all with her perfect pink, heathery version of the sweater. What’s a girl to do?

Well, this girl spent a better part of her waking hours wondering, and searching, and dreaming of that perfect heathered pink, which was, sadly, a discontinued yarn. Let me tell you, I searched high and low and I am feeling very, very particular about this sweater. For anyone else searching for that perfect pink, here are some leads (all UK based):

  1. The Wooly Thistle has some Isle Yarn DK in the Waylands colorway. It’s close in spec and it’s a warm color; but it’s a bit on the peachy side . . . I would encourage you to check out their shop as they stock some of the coolest British and overseas wool available in the US–plus they have all the indie books!!
  2. Jamieson Shetland Heather has, of course, the perfect shade of pink . . . but it’s out of stock and oh so hard to find.
  3. There is also Baa Ram Ewe’s Dovestone–not pink!–but a gray that I could settle in for. And, again, the weight is about right. Plus, WEBS has huge hanks of it at a discount.
  4. Tolt Yarn and Wool has an excellent selection of some regionally sources yarns; but not so much in the pink range.

But the best, best match I could find comes from a small farm in the UK–just look at that heathery pink goodness. MMmmmm. It’s Isle Yarn in the colorway Smedmore. Now, the question is: do I shell out for some deliciousness and do this sweater right OR do I stick to my own shetland overdye and keep dreaming about the perfect pink?? Have you ever been obsessed with a color?

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 8.09.01 PM.png

This entry was posted in acquisitions, Aileas, found, love, pattern, unexpected, yarn, yarn shopping, yarn-lover. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Searching for the Perfect Pink . . .

  1. Alina says:

    Oh, that is a hard choice! I was recently obsessed with deep blue color and just had to use it in a sweater. My advice – leave it for a couple of days, don’t think about, don’t look at more yarns and then come back to it with the fresh mind and go with your first instinct.

    Liked by 1 person

    • great advice, Alina! It was hard, but I did sleep on if for a couple of days. I just received some good news (more about that later–I hope) and so, finally decided to purchase the pink as a celebratory act. I can’t wait to make the sweater for a second time 🙂

      Like

  2. Oooh, tricky one! Thrifty me (who usually wins) says stick with what you have, but it’s also worth thinking about what you’ll actually want to wear – are you going to always be wishing your cardi was pink every time you put it on? Oh, and not to play devil’s advocate here, but did you check out Cushendale yarns in your search? They have some lovely heathery yarns, including a pink in a DK weight… Just sayin’…
    http://www.theconstantknitter.ie/shop/yarn/cushendale-dk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheri Ahner says:

    What about Heathcliff, by Baa Rams Ewe? Too Peachy?

    Like

Leave a comment