To Comb or Not to Comb?

**If you are looking for the Pigeonroof Studio’s awesome giveaway, follow this link to YouTube, Episode 3 of the knittingthestash podcast and leave a comment🙂 

Ok, dear readers, this one if for the spinners and fiber preppers out there . . . I have had my dear guild-mate’s combs for a few weeks now. And, sadly, these weeks have coincided with a really crazy time at work: did I mention that I’m teaching an online class with 750 students? or that I’m trying to get a book manuscript published? Oye! So, I lost a bit of time, energy, and momentum for learning this new fiber prep skill.

Here’s what has kept me motivated: I love combed fiber! I loved the couple of hours I spent with the combs! I am loving the spun yarn from the combed Corriedale!

img_4881img_4885img_4889

IMG_5089.jpg

So, here is my plan; well, my husband’s plan: he has offered to work up a set of combs for me–including a hackle (whoa!) Did I mention that he’s also writing a book? Patience, patience. Maybe by spring, I’ll be able to tell you all about my new tools 🙂

In the meantime, I have been trolling the webs for some DIY inspiration. There are a few great formulas out there:

Have any of you made your own combs? I’d love to hear about it! And, if you are a fiber prepper, what do you prefer: combed or carded fiber?

This entry was posted in combed top, combs, community, fiber, fiber prep, homespun, plans, tools. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To Comb or Not to Comb?

  1. Mary Giger says:

    My husband made a comb/hackle for me. It worked well but it was a difficult build for him and turned out too heavy to use as a comb. But I loved the combed fiber I got from it. Someday I plan to purchase a set of mini combs. My hands are small and get tired from the weight. That cuts into my spinning time!

    Like

    • Hi Mary, Thanks for the note! I’ve been wondering about the weight of DIY combs . . . good to know that this is a factor to consider! Mini combs look so neat–and useful! I hope you get a pair someday soon 🙂

      Like

  2. Cathe says:

    Check out “Hand Woolcombing and Spinning” by Peter Teal
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OQ92U9U/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

    Like

  3. Tasha says:

    I borrowed some combs from a friend last summer, and even though neither they nor the fiber I was working with were ideal, I fell in love with combing! I liked the process almost as much as I do spinning (it helped that it did it outside in the sunshine each afternoon). I’d like to get some combs and do a lot more (maybe a whole fleece) someday … making your own sounds ambitious but amazing.
    That Peter Teal book is incredibly detailed and hilarious at the same time—him combing in his 70’s shirt and tie! The worsted issue of PLY magazine also has a lot of combing directions/info, and so does The Intentional Spinner—of course since that book has everything.

    Like

    • Thanks, Tasha! I love the idea of sitting outside all summer to comb a fleece. And I have the worsted issue of PLY–I have been reading through them all slowly to savor them! And now I have even more reason to check out the book Cathe recommended–photos of Teal in a 70s shirt combing fiber??? What could be better 🙂

      Like

  4. Alina says:

    Looks so lush! I would love a big super oversize sweater knit in this yarn!

    Like

Leave a Reply

