Indie Dyer Feature: Megan Morrell of Old Crow Art Yarns

Ok, Ok, I kind of geeked out in Episode 4 about Old Crow Art Yarns and Megan Morrell’s astonishing colorways. Well, lucky for me, she is OK with super-fandom and agreed to an interview on the blog! Yes! Her colorways have always caught my eye–great contrasts, bright colors, interesting compositions. Plus, so much purple! ❤ Megan is a very fun-loving person and super to chat with about life, dyeing, and all things fiber, as she demonstrates in the interview. Over the past year, we have become friends and I do so enjoy her humor, sense of adventure, and humanitarian efforts–which you’ll hear a bit more about below. Check out her Etsy shop and like her FB page for updates. You’ll be so happy that you did!  [All images are used by permission and belong to Megan Morrell]

il_570xn-1129825525_21sjfotorcreatedil_570xn-1122502925_nssbil_570xn-1122508369_n5f8fotorcreated-215369140_10207242727936797_4019362809168672433_o.jpg

How did you get into dyeing? 
For me, dyeing yarn was really an evolution of my passion for knitting. I’m the kind of person who loves to know the why of things – I love to know how things work and to break down and examine their parts, which sounds a little creepy (lol) but it’s really more of just a natural curiosity. Dyeing at first was really about getting a greater understanding of the medium I was using for the craft I loved so much. As soon as I dyed my first skein I was hopelessly addicted to the process, and it really just exploded from there – trying different dyes, different methods, different bases – and eventually it led me to my own Etsy shop!

What is your favorite fiber to dye?
I have to say probably my favorite fiber to dye is 50/50 superwash merino wool and silk. It takes color beautifully and you can achieve a certain subtlety to the color, plus it has that gorgeous sheen you just can’t get with other fibers. It’s my favorite to BUY, too!

Where do you find inspiration?
I would definitely say my inspiration comes exclusively from the recesses of the eccentric and eclectic playground I call my brain. Colorways for me are always inspired by one or both of these things: First, a desire to evoke a memory, a feeling, an experience, or simply something I enjoy in my chosen artistic medium, or as a challenge to myself – having an idea and seeing if I can pull it off. The mini sets I recently listed were an example of the latter – can I take a photo that speaks to me and give it a rebirth in yarn? It was a lot of fun!

Any advice for new dyers?
Wow, SO much advice. Probably the most important thing is have a passion. You have to truly love it because it is going to be a massive commitment of your time. Don’t underestimate that. Create things YOU think are beautiful, not what you think will sell, and you’ll never go wrong. Don’t give up. Have fun, be creative, and do right by others. I could talk about it for HOURS, lol.

Where can folks find your shop online?
People can find me at www.oldcrowartyarns.etsy.com, as well as on Facebook as Old Crow ArtYarns and Instagram @oldcrowartyarns.549

What’s NEW on the horizon for your shop?
After the new year I hope to have a lot of new things on the horizon! First and foremost, I’m working on restructuring my schedule so I can have regular shop updates. I have a demanding full-time job at a local hospital, plus 3 demanding children, a husband, and kitties at home, so time is at a premium for me and there’s never enough of it! I’m also excited to offer new bases and weights in 2017, and I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on some new yak bases. I plan on continuing my mini sets as well; after the first batch was so fun, I must do more! I have a new kit to launch and hopefully will be in a position to do some more charity efforts, such as my Harry Potter scarf to benefit suicide prevention. Basically I plan to keep growing and evolving in 2017, and I hope people love what I have to show them!

* * *

Thanks so much Megan!

I love meeting new people (and sheep!): if you are an indie dyer, a hand spinner, a shepherdess, a small flock owner, a mill operator, or a wool trader, I would love to feature your work on this site. Please get in touch via email or Ravelry by clicking the “About” tab (above)

This entry was posted in colorway, community, dyeing, favorites, indie dyer, interview, Old Crow Art Yarns, unicorns. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Indie Dyer Feature: Megan Morrell of Old Crow Art Yarns

  1. Robin Nadeau says:

    Very interesting article.

    Like

  2. AlohaBlu says:

    I love seeing these posts – so awesome! I faved her shoppe and FB page – thank you 🙂

    Like

  3. The Greyt Knitter says:

    Wow, those colors leave me without words. I plan to visit her site and hopefully buy some of her yarn! Also, would like to reblog this. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  4. The Greyt Knitter says:

    Reblogged this on THE GREYT KNITTING FRENZY and commented:
    I do not know much about dyeing but enjoyed this article and thought these colors were fantastic. I wanted to share with my readers!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alina says:

    I love the color palettes, especially I love “Nevermore” shades! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

